RSS Feed

A Whimsy List

Posted on

So this is a list – a list of all the things I can think of right now, all the food-related things I can think of right now, that I’d like to do, or to do more often. This is a whimsy list, a list of the things that occur to me on sunny autumn afternoons, or when I really should be thinking about more serious things.

Happy thoughts.

The road goes ever on and on..

I plan to update this list periodically, with any luck adding success stories to flights of fancy, because I think it’s really important to have a whimsical idea or ten to think about when you need a bit of a break from the present.

Here are some of mine:

  • Can my own produce. I’ve had two (very small) forays into the world of home canning so far – a very small batch of apple/black tea jam (I believe the Americans call it ‘jelly’) that was alright enough, and a jar of pickled onions that haven’t yet waited long enough to be taste-tested. But I think the ultimate thing for me would be to can something made from the things I grow myself. It’s a bit of a double desire actually, since it would also involve my little veggie patch getting a whole lot more productive as well. It just feels like such an achievement, to have something that I’ve supervised and guided all the way from seed to plate. Responsibility I think, and adulthood, and skill.
  • Keep recipe cards. Not just any recipe cards either – pretty, detailed, organised, durable ones. I like this idea for so many reasons. I love the idea of having something of myself that might last beyond me, that might stir fond memories of me. I like the idea of being organised, almost all the people I admire are quite organised, and in my (in all likelihood physically impossible) daydream house where everything is just right there is a special place for my beautiful box of perfect recipe cards.
  • Post someone baked goods. I’ve always found the idea of posting someone biscuits to be really romantic. Well, not quite romantic, but I guess neither ‘cute’ nor ‘sweet’ cuts it either. It’s the kind of thing the good girl would do in an Enid Blyton novel. Is there a word for that?
Anyway, there’s my list so far. Do you have any projects that you daydream about?
About T

I am: a law student; a linguistics amateur; a fiancee; a friend; a sister; a cousin; a daughter; a granddaughter; a great-granddaughter; super into languages (especially French); Australian; a gardener; a cook; endowed with a sweet tooth; a reader; lazy; curious; sometimes wrong; sometimes right; sometimes confused; always keen to get to know other people and myself.

7 responses »

  1. I volunteer to be the receiver of baked goods! Tis something I’ve always wanted to do also. I have been known to ship the odd christmas cake and shortbread to Tassie for the festive season – but that was on a large scale and kinda expensive (and stressful).

    We could experiment with what keeps/travels well. I’m sure it would be tasty regardless 😀

    Reply
  2. Hi Lady Chutney,

    I just popped over to your blog and it looks like you’re doing great. And it’s always nice to meet another June baby (such a big month!).

    As for Joy the Baker, I think she’s great. She recently did a list of things she wanted to do herself, maybe you could check it out for ideas? http://www.joythebaker.com/blog/2011/03/thirty-things-before-thirty-years/

    Oh, and definitely feel free to add recipe cards to your list!

    Reply
    • Thanks Angelbird for your nice comments, it’s good to get some feedback as I do sometimes wonder what I am doing.

      It was Joy who gave me the idea for my list, although her list is a lot more alturistic than mine. I am looking forward to finding out if she completed it.

      Love your blog and I will continue to read it with interest. Especially during our birthday month.

      Reply
  3. I love your whimsey list. I have a list. 60 things to do before I’m 60. There are 45 things on there so far and I have to think of another 15 before my birthday in June when I will have 4 years to complete my list. (I came to all this blogging thing a bit late in life but I have done well for one so technology challenged. I found you via Joythebaker but I’m not entirely sure how). Anyway, my list. I was made redundant last year so my list has to contain financially modest aims (although the trip to Austraila and the US and an evening at Ronnie Scotts are firmly at the top because you never know do you, I might be able to do them one of these days…) Anyway my list. I might not get everything done but that’s ok. I will have fun trying. May I copy your idea of recipe cards? – I love the sentiment behind it and it would give me an ongoing project. I just love all this blogging and the new world it is opening up. I’ll shut up now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

