RSS Feed

Food Got You Down?

Posted on

For the last while I felt down, not up, un-perky, demotivated, grumpy, tired, sore, and just overall icky. I thought grumpy thoughts, spouted tired greetings and did unmotivated work. I stopped posting on this blog. I sat around eating couscous with jam and chocolates and pasta and I wondered why I was feeling so lacklustre.

But had I taken my own advice, I wouldn’t have been such a party pooper. I’ve written about how important I think it is to use food to contribute to your emotions in a physical “yay, I’m eating something pretty!” kind of way, but I’m sure most of you know that that’s not the only way that food can affect our emotions.

If you don’t eat a (somewhat) balanced diet, with all of the good colours represented, you’re just not going to get enough of everything. And I think it stands to reason that if your body isn’t getting everything it needs you’re not going to feel crash hot. I can’t tell you how much better I felt after a couple of huge bowls of greens with some yummy nuts and (French) cheese and beans. So I strongly suspect that there was a nutrient or three lacking in what I’d been eating for a little while.

Before we get too carried away though, delicious delicious sweets have their place, don’t get me wrong. It is my firm opinion that sometimes that instant comfort you can get from warm chocolate self-saucing pudding or anything wrapped in pastry is entirely necessary and appropriate. Because life is not all unicorns and bestest friends. The big point, to my mind, is to make sure that your entire emotional life isn’t held up by pastry legs. Your emotions are very valuable, and good pastry isn’t hard enough to make for decent support. They just make a good cushion every now and then.

About T

I am: a law student; a linguistics amateur; a fiancee; a friend; a sister; a cousin; a daughter; a granddaughter; a great-granddaughter; super into languages (especially French); Australian; a gardener; a cook; endowed with a sweet tooth; a reader; lazy; curious; sometimes wrong; sometimes right; sometimes confused; always keen to get to know other people and myself.

Leave a Reply

