RSS Feed

The Sweet Sweet Biscuits of Procrastination

Posted on

The one good thing about procrastination is that it makes the world taste better. And when you start off with something really good, like a decent biscuit, things get absolutely delicious.

I had a massive week last week. A presentation, and exam, an essay and the spectre of more to come. And last week I also baked two of the best batches of biscuits that I’ve made in a long time.

Procrastination certainly isn’t the way I’d like to live my life all the time. Yes, I did get the big things done. Heck, it turns out that I do far better in exams when I’m still a little bit tipsy from the night before. And my essay was submitted with two hours to spare, even if I was sitting in the McDonald’s car park using their wireless. But a lot of other things fell by the wayside. This blog post is three days late and my mouth has a huge ulcer because I didn’t get time to go to the chemist’s.

That said, I do think it can be good sometimes to put things off. That covert feeling that you get when you’re enjoying yourself when you should be doing something you just don’t want to do, it’s fantastic. It reminds me of throwing Mum’s wooden spoons into a tree with my brother while she wasn’t looking.

And so I’d like to share my favourite basic biscuit recipe with you. Biscuits are super easy to make, and perfect for all sorts of situations, including when you want to do something a little bit sneaky instead of your work (who can fault you for something when you’re holding fresh baked biscuits under their nose). Plus, work is a lot more tolerable with a plate of bikkies next to you.

You’ll need (all measurements are very approximate since I never measure at all (at all may be an exaggeration)):

2/3 cup sugar
120g butter
1 egg
1 cup self-raising flour (you can use plain flour plus a bit of baking powder if you’d like)
Some flavouring

Mix together the butter and sugar, then add the egg, then the flour. If your flavouring is in the form of chunks (e.g. chocolate bits or sultanas) add it at the end. If not, add it with the egg. The dough should be stiff enough to roll into balls. If it seems too wet, add more flour, if it’s too dry, add milk. Then roll into balls and put on a tray in the oven at about 180oC and check them after ten minutes or so. Cooking time depends on your oven and the biscuit size.

The two most recent lots I’ve made are vanilla choc chip (1 tsp vanilla essence, about half a block of chocolate broken up small), and choc-peanut (1 tablespoon of peanut butter, 3 heaped teaspoons of cocoa).
There are lots of ways to modify this recipe. You can use something other than butter like olive oil or fruit purée. You can leave the egg out and add something else for some more moisture (generally you increase your fat a little and add something like a little milk). You can add oats or ground nuts and reduce the flour content. Most things you can think of will work out alright

About T

I am: a law student; a linguistics amateur; a fiancee; a friend; a sister; a cousin; a daughter; a granddaughter; a great-granddaughter; super into languages (especially French); Australian; a gardener; a cook; endowed with a sweet tooth; a reader; lazy; curious; sometimes wrong; sometimes right; sometimes confused; always keen to get to know other people and myself.

Leave a Reply

